Author’s new release hits number 4 in serial killers chart

Author Dave Sivers of Pitstone

Author Dave Sivers of Pitstone

Have your say

Two apparently straightforward deaths in Aylesbury Vale form the basis of the latest novel by Pitstone writer Dave Sivers.

Dead in Deep Water currently sits at number four in the Amazon Kindle ‘Serial Killers’ chart. It is the sequel to Dave’s successful contemporary crime debut, The Scars Beneath the Soul, and sees the return of Det Insp Lizzie Archer and Det Sgt Dan Baines.

Dave's new book

Dave's new book

The book starts with the discovery of the body of a young Olympic hopeful in a water-filled disused quarry, and a simple case of misadventure is assumed. When, a few days later, a petty thief meets a violent end, it appears that an elderly vigilante may have made good on his threats.

But, in the words of the novel’s strapline, ‘murder is never simple’, and Archer and Baines soon begin to unearth darker motivations behind the two deaths; and someone will stop at nothing to make sure the truth stays buried.

As with the first in the series, the Aylesbury Vale of Archer and Baines is a slightly shadowy twin of our real-life area, blending some fictitious locations in with the real ones – sometimes, Dave says, for the sake of the story, and sometimes so local readers don’t have nightmares.

Dave is well-known locally as a freelance writer, and is the LBO’s Ivinghoe and Pitstone correspondent. He has also gained prizes and publication with his short fiction. He also chaired the BeaconLit festival of books and writing in Ivinghoe in 2013, and again this year.

Dead in Dark Water is available as an eBook from at the lower price of just 99p until August 31, 2014. Dave’s website is at

Back to the top of the page