ELECTIONS 2011: Dominant Tories hold Central Beds Council

Tories took 49 of the 59 seats
Tories took 49 of the 59 seats

CONSERVATIVE opponents had the blues as the Tories dominated the fight for seats on Central Beds Council.

With 54 per cent of the vote, the Conservatives have ended up with 49 councillors, the Liberal Democrats followed with five successes, with Independents (three), Labour (one), and No Party (one).

Across Leighton and Linslade wards every seat turned Tory. In Leighton South, Ray Berry, Dave Bowater and Amanda Dodwell were elected. In Leighton North, Roy Johnstone, Alan Shadbolt and Brian Spurr triumphed. In Linslade, David Hopkin, Ken Janes and Nigel Warren took the plaudits.

In Aspley and Woburn, Budge Wells (Cons) beat Labour opponent Rachel Lewington comfortably, while in Eaton Bray, Marion Mustoe (Cons) easily won her seat.

Over in Heath and Reach, Mark Versallion was another Tory triumph by a large margin.

In Dunstable it wasn’t a clean sweep for the Conservatives. Labour’s Roger Pepworth took Dunstable Manshead, while in Dunstable Northfield, Julian Murray (Ind) was elected along with Denise Green (Cons).

Dunstable Watling seats went to Peter Hollick (Cons) and Ann Sparrow (Cons), Dunstable Icknield went to David McVicar (Cons) and Nigel Young (Cons), while Carol Hegley (Cons) took the Dunstable Central seat.

Over in Houghton Regis, Liberal Democrats took all the seats. Susan Goodchild and David Jones won in Houghton Hall, Rita Egan was elected in Parkside and Peter Williams took Tithe Farm.

By 10pm on Friday evening, the AV vote and the results for town and parish councils were still not available.

See centralbedfordshire.gov.uk for further results and for the full election round up, see next week’s Dunstable Gazette and Leighton Buzzard Observer.