Conservatives take all nine Central Beds Council seats in Leighton and Linslade


Opponents were left feeling blue on Friday evening as the Conservatives took all nine available Central Beds Council seats across Leighton and Linslade.

Leighton Buzzard North saw Conservatives Ken Ferguson (3,663 votes), Roy Johnstone (3,509) and Brian Spurr (3,640) elected. Unsuccessful candidates were Michael Bishop (Labour) 1,614; Jonathan Hull (Green) 737, Rosalind Mennie (Liberal Democrat) 734; Ian Purvis (Labour) 1,331; Daniel Scott (Labour) 1,438; Alan White (Liberal Democrat) 674; Simon Wilson (Green) 713; and Gary Woodwards (Green) 671.

In Leighton Buzzard South, the seats went to Conservatives Ray Berry (2,823), Dave Bowater (2,862) and Amanda Dodwell (2,999). Missing out were Paul Adams (Independent) 401; John Bone (Labour) 1,302; Nichola Cheesewright (Green) 543; Anne Gray (Liberal Democrat) 559; Anne Guess (Liberal Democrat) 481; Adrian Heffernan (Labour) 1,046; Emily Lawrence(Green) 474; Garry Lelliott (UKIP) 1,163; Christopher Northedge (Labour) 929; Celia Snelling (Liberal Democrat) 452; and Kenton Sumner (Green) 361.

Over in Linslade, the Conservatives triumphed again with Gordon Perham (2,935) Gary Tubb (2,814) and Benjamin Walker (2,418) elected.

Missing out were Ken Barry (Green) 834; Nigel Carnell (Liberal Democrat) 958; Parisa Darling (Green) 667; Russ Goodchild (Liberal Democrat) 1,027; Tony Mabbott (Green) 541; Peter Palfrey (Labour) 1,068; Rebekah Price (Labour) 972; Ian Reynolds (UKIP) 930; Gerald Sandison (Labou) 914; Peter Snelling (Liberal Democrat) 1,333 and Mike Woodhouse (UKIP) 770.

Other contested Central Beds seats from LBO land saw Budge Wells (Conservative) poll 2,012 votes to defeat Robin Harewood-Lee of the Greens (735); Ken Janes (Conservative) elected with 1,225 votes in Eaton Bray ahead of Ruth Archer (Independent, 943) and Isaac Sibiya (Labour, 242).

Whilst the majority of election results for Central Bedfordshire Council have now been counted and announced in a few remaining wards further information was required before the process can be completed. The count has therefore been suspended until Saturday morning.

The election results for town and parish councils will not be announced now until Monday, May 11.