Proposed boundary changes for South West Beds area revealed

Boundary changes
Boundary changes

South West Bedfordshire stands to lose Houghton Regis and Caddington wards from the constituency under plans announced today.

A new constituency of Luton North and Houghton has been put forward in the Boundary Commission review of constituencies across England.

The plans are part of reforms which would see the House of Commons reduce from 650 MPs to 600. A public consultation is now under way and final proposals, which aim to equalise the number of voters in each constituency, will not be made until 2018.

Meanwhile South West Beds has potentially gained Aspley and Woburn, Toddington, and Barton-le-Clay from the Mid Beds consituency.

A public hearing on the changes will be held at Luton Town Hall, George Street, Luton LU1 2BQ on Monday, November 7 – Tuesday, November 8.

The proposed breakdown of wards in each constituency:

South West Beds – Aspley and Woburn, Barton-le-Clay, all Dunstable wards, Eaton Bray, Heath and Reach, Leighton Buzzard/Linslade wards, Toddington.

Luton North and Houghton – Houghton Hall, Parkside, Tithe Farm, Bramingham, Challney, Icknield, Leagrave, Lewsey, Limbury, Northwell, Saints, Sundon Park.

Luton South – Caddington, Barnfield, Biscot, Crawley, Dallow, Farley, High Town, Round Green, South Luton, Stopsley, Wigmore.

> Meanwhile, the wards of Edlesborough, Pitstone & Cheddington and Wingrave, have been put forward to be moved from the Buckingham constituency to the Aylesbury constituency.