Sandra and Mick finish the year on a high with another victory

editorial image

The year has ended the way it started for a pair of Leighton Buzzard golfers who team up for mixed competitions - with a trophy.

Secretary Sandra Bellis and former club champion Mick Myatt started the golfing season by winning Leighton’s Mixed Medal with a nett 69 and then added the Mixed Greensomes title with a 40 point haul.

Now they’ve completed a hat-trick of competition wins by topping the table in the Christmas Mixed event for the Mel and Pauline Glover trophy, their 34 point greensomes score beating Nigel and Jackie Phelps by a shot.

In between their joint successes, Sandra won the Ladies Rosewear Bowl with 38 points, while Mick featured prominently in club medal and stableford competitions.

Leighton golfer Brandon Waddington who took up golf seven years ago at the age of five, has cut his handicap from 42 to 29 in a year in which he won six of the nine Division Two junior medals at the Plantation Road club.

He also teamed up with County starlet Freya Daniels to beat defending champions Shin Bateman and Ollie Banwell in the final of the Millennium Foursomes Shield, achievements which resulted in Gilbert Inglefield student Brandon an award for the most promising high handicap boy golfer. He now plays off a lower handicap than dad Jason, the Leighton club steward.

Olivia Campbell won the most promising high handicap girl award, while Josh Lowe (2) and George Stephenson won Division Two junior medals.

Josh Banwell (2), Tim Martin, Shin Bateman and Andrew Valentine each won two of the Division One medals, with Nat Jones claiming the other. Josh also won the Winter League, beating Holiday Stableford trophy winner Eddie Fender; the Larry Blair Trophy, the Fred Wood Eclectic Bowl and teamed up with Teddie Jones to win the Millennium fourball better-ball Shield, where they beat Nat Jones and Tim Martin. Tim did however, win the Order of Merit award, with Ed Stephenson runner-up, while Ollie Banwell won the Fred Wood Bogey Cup.

And in a year in which the Leighton junior squad beat Buckingham, Mentmore, Aspley Guise, Millbrook, Woburn and Abbey Hill for the Vale League title, Captain Richard Hill was crowned Junior champion and also retained the Brian Valentine Trophy.