Skipper Steve prepares to hand over the captancy reigns

editorial image

Sweet-and-sour has been on the menu for Leighton Buzzard golf club Captain Steve Leng as he prepares to hand over the reins to his successor Adrian Stephenson.

With just a month to go of his year-long term as skipper, Steve’s red army lost their annual encounter against his Vice Adrian before completing his inter-club campaign with a high octane victory over John O’Gaunt on Saturday.

In what was the closest finish for years, Leighton won five of the 14 games, John O’ Gaunt carding four victories and another five matches ending in ties.

Leighton got off to a disappointing start, with five of the fourballs back in the club house before Leighton clocked their first victory. Crematorium boss Andy Wright and heating company chief Steve Giles sounded the death knell for Gaunt’s hopes with a two hole win before Brian Wilson and Richard Barrow added fuel to the fire with a four hole victory.

With three teams finishing all square and with Leighton trailing, success was secured with the last three groups providing the sting in the tail. Shane Kimber and Phil Coumbe, Ben Irvine and Phil Eddy and Vice Captain Adrian and Vice elect John Smith all won by comfortable margins to earn Leighton a well-celebrated 5-4 victory.

Skipper Steve partnered by Leighton’s County champion Matt Hill, County Vice President David Hawkins and Simon Rossiter, Will Sampson and Peter Burgoyne, Steve Gillett and Steve Schmidt and John Latimer and Keith Edmunds all halved their games.

Having lost by 13 to 8 last year as Vice Captain, skipper Steve was hoping for a better result this time against Adrian’s vice squad. But it wasn’t to be as his team went down by 31 holes to 21, winning just seven of the 18 games, with two matches halved.

Adrian and postman Manny Barker, Geoff Nunn and Barry Kent, Phil Coumbe and Andy Ashall, Nigel Chapman and Nick Roberts, Will Koch and Mick Francis, Brian Carter and Ken Wilson, Mark Newton and Mark McLoughlin, Adrian Stannard and Simon Goodall and Paul Johnson and Steve Boud won their games by a total of 31 holes.

Peter Burgoyne and Will Sampson, Steve Tyas and Andy Wright, John Preston and Ian Alexander, Nigel Phelps and Steve Schmidt, Paul Atkinson and John Latimer, Phil Eddy and Matt Sale and Shane Bentley and Steve Richardson won for skipper Steve by a total of 21 holes.

Brian Wilson and Stuart Leslie halved their match against Billy O’Neill and Graham Hazel with Mick Brooker and Peter Taylor also halving against John Smith and Danny Nairne.

Leighton’s inter-club team beat a Mentmore squad 3-0, with victories by Steve Schmidt and Dave Evans, Lance Lawes and Manny Barker and Shane Bentley and Ada Stephenson. Skipper Steve Leng and John Latimer, Andy Jenkins and Shane Kimber and Derek Richards and John Allinson halved their games.

Former Ladies Captain Val Berry teamed up with Farida Cerosio and Marilyn Myatt to win their Modified Texas Scramble with a score of 73.4, with Alison Shirville, Lorraine Leaver and Lynn Newnham finishing runners-up.