Banwell and Stone top the tables to get their hands on the Winter League

editorial image

Two Leighton golfers have won the Plantation Road clubs’ Winter League trophy for a second successive year – in the summer.

Car racing enthusiast Dave Banwell and playing partner Jamie Stone took 19 holes to beat Steve Light and Peter Morgan last year but claimed the scalps of County Seniors champ John Tarbox and Mick Myatt by winning the last two holes this time around.

The Winter League programme begins in October with league winners and runners-up going through to knock-out stages that have only recently been completed.

Said warehouseman Jamie, 23: “It was a very tight game, with John and Mick squaring the match on the 16th. But we birdied the 17th and then won the 18th to retain the title for a second year.”

Judy Ammon is the new holder of Leighton Ladies Rosewear Bowl, her 37 points pipping vice Captain Avril Simpson by a shot.

Ollie Banwell was the only Leighton winner as the club Junior team lost their Vale League match at Windmill Hill 5-1. Woburn beat Buckingham 3-2 with one match halved.

After beating Bedfordshire 5-1, Leighton’s inter-club team lost 4-3 at Aspley Guise. Skipper Ada Stephenson and Keith Edmunds, Mike Loot and Dave Evans, Phil Eddy and Bryan Bateman, Andres Valentine and Ed Stephenson and John Smith and Shane Bentley won for Leighton against Bedfordshire, while Ben Irvine and Phil Coumbe, Bryan Bateman and Steve Fleming and David Coleman and Scott Douglas won against Aspley, with John Smith and Jeremy Taylor halving their match.

Leighton’s Seniors drew 4-4 with Aspley Guise Willmotts, with wins by skipper Robbie John and Dave Newby, Denis Leitch and Geoff Allatt, Graham Robinson and Martin Broadley and Terry Wright and David Debell. Wins by Robbie John and Terry Dell, Kelvin Young and Danny Nairne, Fred Ritchie and Keith Oddie, Will Sampson and David Newby earned the Seniors a 4-3 victory over Redbourn, with John Halstead and Geoff Allatt halving their match.

Jon Evans won Leighton’s May Midweek Medal with a nett 67, a shot clear of Andy Tizzard, with Russell Rowles, Chris Yirrell and Bike Bluett heading a chasing pack.

Blind-company boss Barry Wills won Leighton’s May stableford for Division One players, beating Josh Banwell on countback after both finished with 41 points. Tom Day and Neale Proud both finished with 40 points, a shot clear of Tim Mitchell, Geoff Barker, Niki Clark, Chris Yirrell and Shin Bateman. The Division Two competition was won by Trevor McAleese with 40 points, one clear of Paul Dowdeswell, with Martin Price, David Roffe and Daniel Hill all finishing with 37 points.

David Evans and Gary Hart teamed up to win the Dennis Jordan foursomes challenge qualifier with 41 points, a shot clear of Peter Townley and Mark Hammond. Thirteen other pairs qualified for the knock-out stage in which Denis Elliott and Peter Brennan will defend their title.

Leighton-based Chartered accountant Brian Carter won the Bedfordshire Captains golf society match at John O’Gaunt, beating more than 70 other golfers to claim the Captain’s Day trophy with 38 points – and a nearest-the-pin prize for good measure.

Transport boss Paul Ellam won a Leighton stableford event with 39 points, one clear of Division One rival Phil Coumbe.

with Shane Bentley and Will Koch both finishing with 37 points. The Division Two competition was won by Peter Townley whose 39 points beat Daniel Hill on countback, with Andres Valentine, Brian Hurley and Daniel Latimer all finishing with 38 points.