Golfers can’t be separated after racing the Leighton Grand Prix

editorial image

Two Leighton men tied in a golfing Grand Prix with equal points after 30 laps of their home course in club competitions.

Aerospace engineer Scott Douglas had a four point lead in the annual event in which points are awarded to the top ten finishers in single competitions at Leighton Buzzard Golf Club and looked set to win the coveted trophy when he finished fourth in the final event.

But he was joined on the podium by chiropodist Sam Messenger whose 12 points for winning the final medal competition closed the gap, putting the duo, who have both been members of the Plantation Road club for two years, joint top with 68 points.

“We didn’t realise until all the results were in just how close it was,” said 28-year-old Scott adding: “It would have been nice to win outright, but sharing top spot with Sam was no mean feat.”

While Scott won a monthly medal and was a regular top ten finisher in the various qualifying competitions, Sam, 39, banked maximum points for winning both the Henley Cup and Autumn Bowl.

Just days after potting his fourth hole-in-one, IT engineer Phil Coumbe celebrated in style by winning Leighton’s 75th Anniversary trophy by the narrowest of margins. Phil, 41, finished with 39 points, the same as five-handicap golfer David Banwell – with six-handicap golfer Phil being awarded top spot on countback, his 19 points pipping former motor racing driver David by a shot. March stableford winner Simon Goodall took third place with 38 points beating Richard Harris on countback, with Neale Proud, 37pts; Colin McLeod, Peter Gadsden and Steven Giles (36pts) in hot pursuit.

Three golfers tied for top spot with 36 points in the 50th Anniversary trophy competition. David Nero took pole position on countback from Mark McLoughlin with Oliver Mortimer finishing third. Other leading scores: 35 – Phil Martin, David Hanley, Ben Hazell; 34 – Daniel Lamont, Simon Rossiter.

Bit hitters Colin Beesley, David Jones, Graham Hazell and David Evans teamed up to out-gun the opposition in Leighton’s Millennium Texas Scramble, finishing with a nett 52.3. Runners-up were Dan Lamont, Oliver Mortimer, Gary Bennett and Ben Hazell with 54.5, with Lance Lawes, Brian Wilson, Peter Townley and Peter Burgoyne a shot adrift in third place.

Carmen White won Leighton Ladies March medal with 32 points, beating Barbara Rickard by one shot.

Leighton’s journey in the national Mail on Sunday competition has ended. After beating local rivals Aylesbury Vale and Tilsworth, they fell in the last match of five against Windmill Hill. Colin Beesley got Leighton off to a winning start, and after David Hawkins and Richard Samuels both suffered narrow defeats, Phil Coumbe levelled the scores...only for anchor man Paul Atkinson to be pipped in the final match.

The Leighton club will be holding an Open Day on Sunday, April 26, with visitors being invited to play nine holes free on the picturesque Plantation Road course. For a tee time, call 01525 244815.