Easy does it as fans take on MK Dons for a round at Leighton Buzzard Club

Sweet-and-sour was on the menu for golfers and MK Dons soccer supporters at Leighton Buzzard's Plantation Road club last week.

More than 60 Dons fans took part in a ‘Game of Two Halves’, with 18 holes of golf at the Leighton club followed by executive box seats for their Sky Bet Championship evening kick-off against Wolverhampton Wanderers.

And while Dons’ manager Karl Robinson teamed up with club colleagues Andrew Cullen (Executive Director of Football), Anthony Richens (Group finance controller) and supporters liaison officer Gordon McNicol for an enjoyable round, events hit a sour note hours later as the Dons’ suffered a 2-1 home defeat against the Wolves.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

A team from Easy Copiers won the golf event, but with the Dons fighting for Championship survival, Saturday’s 4-0 home defeat to Rotherham leaves them on the canvas with just five games left to play.

It was a knock-out of a different kind for senior Leighton golfers with seasoned campaigners Tom Davis and Keith Camp winning the Bernard Smith winter league shield.

The duo, no strangers to golfing success despite clocking up close on 150 years between them, beat younger hopefuls David Sweetnam and Victor Albertella for the title.

Leighton Seniors skipper Robbie John maintained his unbeaten start to the season with matching 6-2 inter-club victories over Aspley Guise and Aylesbury Vale. Robbie teaming up with Victor Albertella, opened Leighton’s account against The Vale and was followed into the clubhouse with wins by John Bettle and Martin Broadley, David Kingham and George Darbyshire, Harry Adam and David Debell, Philip Spratt-Callaghan and David Newby, and Graham Robinson and Fred Ritchie.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Terry Wright and Keith Thurtell, Paul Johnson and Dave Roberts, Andy McDonald and David Debell, Denis Leitch and Danny Nairne and Rob Tate and Kelvin Young returned winning cards against Aspley Guise, with skipper Robbie John and Ron Dickinson and John Tarbox and Mike Manning halving their matches.

Lesley Brazier and Oonagh Russell topped the tables as highest scorers in Leighton Ladies April stableford competition, with Lesley taking the Division Two award with 38 points.

Lila Garrod was Division Three winner with 31 points, beating Joyce Young by three shots, while Gill McDougall was Division One winner, her 33 points pipping Sandra Bellis by a shot. Barbara Healey won the Ladies stableford qualifier with 38 points, with Lesley Bednarek, Oonagh Russell and Sandra Bellis finishing with 35 points apiece.

A better back-nine score earned John Ager the April Division One stableford title after he and ever-improving teenager Ed Stephenson both scored 40 points. Nigel Chapman was third with 39 points, with Daniel Haggerty and Mark Hammond (37pts) and Robbie John, Neale Proud, Steve Shepherd, Will Sampson, and Peter Burgoyne heading a chasing pack with 36 points.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

On-form Bryan Bateman pocketed his second competition in consecutive months when he won the April stableford with 42 points, just weeks after taking the March Medal top spot for Division Two golfers. His 42 points pipped Tim Dawson by a shot, with Mark Vincent taking third place ahead of Archie Galpin on countback. Adam Cobb, John Magee and Victor Albertella all finished with 38 points.

Leading results in other recent club competitions include:

50th Anniversary Trophy: 36pts – Patti Marriott, Dave Evans, Derek Shaw; 35pts – Simon Rossiter, David Roberts; 34pts – Daniel Latimer, Angela Samuels, Stuart Goodwin, Geoff Dimmock, Derek Richards, Graham Richmond.

75th Anniversary Trophy: 39pts – Neale Proud; 38pts – Phil Coumbe, Ed Stephenson, Barry Wills, Jon Evans, Stuart McLeod; 37pts - Manny Barker; 36pts – Andrew Ashall, Phil Eddy, Richard Samuels, Andy Tizzard.

March Medal - Division One: Brian Wilson, nett 66; Peter Brennan, nett 67; Phil Martin, nett 68; Tom Day and David Jones, nett 69; Adam Benson, nett 70; Chris Caney and Neale Proud, nett 71; Andrew Jenkins and Will Sampson, nett 72; Division Two: Bryan Bateman, nett 65; David Roberts, nett 69; Steve Gibbs, nett 71; David Watts, Joe Berry, Peter Townley, Terence Roe, nett 72; Tim Mitchell, Alan Smith, nett 73.

A well supported Race Night raised £3,200 for the captains’ charities.