Nadine Dorries in top four parliamentary ‘pinheads’

Mid Bedfordshire MP Nadine Dorries (left) has won another dubious accolade - she’s in the top four of the TaxPayers’ Alliance Pinhead of the Year competition.

She was pipped to the top place by Climate Change Secretary Ed Davey who won almost half the vote after increasing his staff headcount every quarter over the last year.

Other runners-up included Lord Patten of Barnes who agreed a £450,000 pay-off to former BBC director general George Entwhistle who spent only 54 days in the job, and David Parsons, the former Leicestershire County Council leader who took the council’s chauffeur driven car on 202 official trips to London when he could have saved taxpayers £25,000 by taking the train.